Skip to main content

Community Colleges of Spokane honors faculty, staff at CCS Fall Convocation

Community Colleges of Spokane was proud to honor 21 faculty and staff with awards for outstanding service to their colleges and community Monday, Sept. 18, at the District Fall Convocation at Spokane Community College.

Exceptional Faculty Awards
Established in 1997, Exceptional Faculty Awards (EFA) recognize outstanding faculty at both SCC and SFCC. This year, ten instructors were recognized: Bradley Bleck, SFCC English; Christopher Cary, SFCC mathematics; Marie Cole, SFCC allied health; Ira Gardner, SFCC photography; Carol Harrington, SFCC English; Polly McMahon, SFCC social services/gerontology; Amy Wolfsen-Norton, SFCC communication; Andy Dodson, SCC aviation maintenance; Andrew Gebhart, SCC ESL; and Stasia Warren, SCC nursing. The awards come with a plaque and $1,000 from STCU and the CCS Foundation.

Saling Awards for Excellence
Each year, the Saling Awards for Excellence honors outstanding staff members at the Community Colleges of Spokane. This year’s recipients are: Guillermo Espinosa, SCC multicultural student services; Stormy Kurtz, SFCC Gateway to College and Terri Schibel, Head Start.

Outstanding Classified Staff
Each year, three outstanding classified staff (one from each college and the district) are selected for this award. They receive $100 and a plaque. The 2017 recipients are Charles Robbins, SCC aviation maintenance; Mary McDaniel, SFCC testing center and Brenda Norman, district marketing office

Deccio Excellence in Equity Award
The Deccio Excellence in Equity Award has been awarded to Darlene Rickett, SFCC communications instructor, for 2017. The Deccio Excellence in Equity Award is an award in memory of Gary Deccio. Gary was an instructor in Human Services at SFCC who devoted his life to providing local community support services for families in distress and modeling his commitment to equity through fairness, dignity and respect for others. When Gary passed away in 1990, during his third year of teaching, his sense of empathy, fairness, and passion was missed. In Gary’s memory, CCS initiated an annual award to recognize a member of the CCS community who has furthered the cause of equity and diversity.

William Marlowe first Faculty Emeritus
William Marlowe was recently named as the first recipient of the faculty emeritus award. Marlowe retired last year from the SFCC drama department after 18 years but is continuing to teach as an adjunct faculty member.

"As both a creative artist and esteemed faculty member, your talent and service - in teaching, advising, acting, directing and stage management - have helped to build a Drama program that is highly respected throughout the region," Chancellor Dr. Christine Johnson wrote in his designation letter.

He holds a Masters of Fine Arts from the University of Arizona where he won the Creative Achievement award from the College of Fine Arts. He came to the college following 15 years as an Equity freelance artist working across the country. Bill has acted, stage managed or directed for Lake City Playhouse, Coeur d' Alene Summer Theatre, Interplayers Theatre, The Modern Theatre of Spokane and Spokane Civic Theatre. He is the recipient of the CCS Exceptional Faculty Award and the Arts In Education Award from the City of Spokane.

CCS recently implemented the faculty emeritus status to award emeritus designation to tenured faculty through an application and approval process.

Posted On

9/27/2017 4:41:14 PM

Posted By

Gretje Witt



Share this Story